Topstep vs FunderPro – Elite Prop Firms Comparison

Published: · Last updated:

Introduction

Topstep and FunderPro are both funded evaluation firms, but they serve fundamentally different trader profiles. Topstep, founded in 2012 in Chicago, is the original name in CME futures-based prop trading. It operates exclusively on CME Group markets, has distributed more than $1 billion to funded traders, holds a 3.4/5 Trustpilot rating from over 13,800 reviews, and channels all traders through a single proprietary platform – TopstepX. FunderPro, launched in February 2023 and headquartered in Malta, is a multi-asset CFD firm built around its Daily Rewards flagship feature, which allows funded traders to withdraw profits every day. It offers four program types – One Phase, Classic (2-Phase), Pro (2-Phase), and Instant Funding – across account sizes from $5,000 to $200,000 with scaling to $5,000,000. Where Topstep’s 100% first-$10K profit structure rewards early performance, FunderPro’s daily payout frequency and 90% split (with add-on) suit traders who prioritise cash-flow consistency. Topstep is futures-only; FunderPro covers forex, indices, commodities, crypto, and stocks via TradeLocker, cTrader, and MetaTrader 5. The key trade-off: Topstep offers deeper CME futures infrastructure and community; FunderPro offers multi-asset breadth, daily payouts, and a faster scaling path to $5M.

FeatureTopstepFunderPro
Topstep FunderPro
Founded20122023-02
Profit Split100% first $10,000, then 90/1080/20, scalable to 90/10
Maximum Account Size$150,000$5,000,000
Evaluation Phases12
Trustpilot Rating3.4
Expert Grade98.4
ProgramTopstepFunderPro
Entry Level ProgramYesClassic Challenge
Advanced ProgramPro 2-Phase Challenge
Scaling OptionsNoYes
Demo AccountNoYes
CriteriaTopstepFunderPro
Profit Target6%Phase 1: 8-12%, Phase 2: 5-8%
Maximum DrawdownTrailing MLL: $2,000-$4,500Daily: 5%, Maximum: 10%
Minimum Trading Days510
News TradingYesNo
OptionTopstepFunderPro
CFD $10K AccountUSD 69 / Listed challenge / One-time
CFD $25K AccountUSD 219 / Listed challenge / One-time
CFD $50K AccountUSD 319 / Listed challenge / One-time
CFD $100K AccountUSD 539 / Listed challenge / One-time
CFD $200K AccountUSD 989 / Listed challenge / One-time
Futures $50K AccountUSD 49 / Trading Combine / Monthly
Futures $100K AccountUSD 99 / Trading Combine / Monthly
Futures $150K AccountUSD 149 / Trading Combine / Monthly
Coupons / DiscountTopstep discountFunderPro discount
FeatureTopstepFunderPro
Trading PlatformsTopstepXTradeLocker, cTrader, MT5
ForexYesYes
StocksNoYes
IndicesYesYes
CommoditiesYesYes
CryptocurrenciesNoYes
BondsYesNo
EA/Algo TradingYesYes
FeatureTopstepFunderPro
Payout TermsBi-weekly via ACH, wire, or Rise; $50 minimumBank wire, Bitcoin, RiseWorks, USDC; $100 minimum; processed daily
See all prop firm payouts →
Key ElementTopstepFunderPro
StrengthsIndustry pioneer, generous first $10K profit split, no time limits, EAs permitted, no daily loss limit, $1B+ paid to tradersDaily profit withdrawals, No time limits, Aggressive scaling, Multiple payout options, Transparent fees
WeaknessesMonthly subscription fees compound, $149 activation fee, TopstepX platform exclusive, futures-only, trailing MLL can catch intraday profit-takersTrustpilot flagged, Limited track record since Feb 2023, No TradingView support
Best ForSerious futures traders seeking established firm with forgiving evaluationTraders seeking daily withdrawals and flexible challenge timelines

 

FAQ

Does FunderPro really allow daily payouts?

Yes – FunderPro’s Daily Rewards feature is its headline differentiator. Funded traders can submit a withdrawal request every day, with payments processed via RiseWorks (fiat to local bank) and USDC (ERC-20), typically processed within ~8 hours. The minimum withdrawal is $50. Topstep does not advertise a daily payout feature; its payout schedule details are not specified in the KB.

How does the drawdown structure differ between the two firms?

Topstep uses an EOD trailing Maximum Loss Limit (MLL) that locks-in as equity grows – effectively a trailing drawdown of $2,000/$3,000/$4,500 depending on account size – with no daily loss limit whatsoever. FunderPro uses a fixed 10% maximum drawdown calculated from the initial balance (non-trailing), plus a strict 5% daily loss cap. For traders who prefer no daily cap and a trailing floor, Topstep is more permissive intraday. For traders who prefer a fixed drawdown floor that doesn’t move, FunderPro’s structure may feel more predictable.

Can I use automated strategies (EAs) at both firms?

Topstep explicitly permits EAs with no stated restrictions. FunderPro also allows automated strategies, but with an important condition: traders must own the source code of any EA they deploy. Rented or third-party bots are prohibited. Additionally, FunderPro prohibits hedging and arbitrage strategies entirely. Traders who use commercially licensed EAs should check this rule carefully before applying to FunderPro.

Which firm offers better scaling potential?

FunderPro has the more aggressive scaling plan: 25% account growth after every 3 consecutive profitable months, up to a maximum of $5,000,000 in funded capital. Topstep does not publish a scaling path beyond the $150K Trading Combine size. For traders whose goal is to manage large capital, FunderPro’s five-times scaling structure gives it a clear edge in this category.

Which firm is better for forex and crypto traders?

FunderPro. Topstep trades exclusively on CME Group futures – it does not offer spot forex, crypto CFDs, or stock CFDs. FunderPro provides access to major, minor, and exotic forex pairs, global indices, commodities, Bitcoin, Ethereum, altcoins, and US/international stocks, on TradeLocker, cTrader, and MetaTrader 5. If your strategy involves spot forex or crypto, FunderPro is the only viable option of the two.

How was this 2 companies Comparison Created?

This comparison was compiled using published review data available on JoinProp for each firm. All figures – fees, profit targets, drawdown limits, payout structures – are sourced directly from each firm’s review page. Where a detail is not publicly disclosed by the firm, the cell reads “Not specified.” Verify current terms directly with Topstep and FunderPro before purchasing a challenge.

Related comparison: Topstep vs Crypto Fund Trader

View More Elite Prop Firms Compared: E8 Markets vs Funded Trading Plus

JoinProp Topstep vs FunderPro: side-by-side comparison covering programs, fees, drawdown rules, platforms, supported markets, and payouts.