Stocks Prop Firms
Stock traders need to know what sits behind a ticker symbol. A programme can offer listed equities, a simulated stock account or CFDs linked to share prices, and those arrangements differ in short-selling access, execution and corporate-action treatment. Calling all three “stock funding” hides the details that decide whether a trading strategy is usable.
This comparison focuses on programmes with a documented equity trading route. Compare the instrument structure alongside buying power, eligible stocks, shorting conditions and data costs. Index futures alone do not make a firm a stock prop provider, and an options training package is not evidence of access to ordinary share trading.
Begin with your trading universe. Large-cap opening-range trades, small-cap shorts and multi-day earnings positions require different permissions. Check the hours available, the minimum share price, the maximum position size and whether you can obtain the specific market data your method uses. A large buying-power headline means little if the stocks or order types behind your results are excluded.
Showing all 7 results
- Chicago-based stock and options evaluation firm, separate from FunderPro
- $100,000 simulated TrueEdge Challenge; funded profit share advertised at 80%
- Official challenge rules require same-day closing and 12 trading days per 22-day attempt
- Challenge limits: $500 daily loss and $3,000 maximum loss; confirm precise enforcement and calculation
- Payout schedule and funded-account terms need direct confirmation
- Stock and options day-trading niche
- Published 80% funded profit share
- Official challenge rules and reset guidance
- Coaching and professional market data
- Challenge-cost reimbursement advertised once funded
- All challenge positions must close the same day
- Reset does not extend the 22-trading-day attempt deadline
- Payout schedule and detailed drawdown calculation need direct confirmation
- Demanding minimum activity and performance rules
- Not a challenge firm: a US prop firm (founded 1997) that trains and funds traders with its own real capital
- You apply, interview and complete a paid qualification program before real capital is allocated
- Real firm money, not a simulator — a 1099 contractor role starting ~$25k, scaling with performance
- 65–90% split (60–90% on currencies), paid monthly by ACH with bonuses
- A $199 desk fee plus a trading bond and tuition — but the exact figures are not published; you apply to learn them
- Real firm capital, not a simulated funded account - allocated after you qualify
- Genuine long-form mentorship and a 25-year track record (founded 1997)
- High 65-90% profit split (60-90% on currencies), rising with consistency, no cap on levels
- Paid monthly by ACH, with performance and milestone bonuses
- No commission mark-up and no spread fees - incentives aligned with trader P&L
- No volume requirement; high-frequency trading actively discouraged
- Remote and part-time trading explicitly allowed
- Opaque upfront pricing: a $199 desk fee plus a required trading bond and tuition, but the exact tuition and bond figures are NOT published - you must apply to learn them
- A long, effort-heavy path to funding (weeks of coursework, tests and monitored demo) versus a same-week challenge
- Modest starting capital (~$25,000) versus the headline simulated accounts of challenge firms
- No published hard drawdown or daily-loss number - risk control is discretionary and coach-driven
- No regulator backstop (it trades its own capital and is not a brokerage)
- Crypto-focused model with PropW's own simulated trading environment and up to 5x leverage.
- Standard Mode and Pro Mode both use static drawdown, which is easier to understand than trailing drawdown.
- USDT payouts, an 80% default reward split and a stated path up to 90%.
- The 45% consistency rule can delay a payout request, but no challenge restart is required once the ratio is brought back inside the limit.
- PropW is a simulated-account firm and says it is not regulated by a financial regulator.
- Some payout and pricing details should be checked at checkout because not every account-size fee is exposed in one clean static table.
- The trading rules are crypto-prop specific, including a 60-second minimum trade duration and a 10-calendar-day maximum holding period.
- Slovak prop firm (RIFM s.r.o., Bratislava) with simulated forex/metals evaluations on its own RF-Trader platform; capital to ~$320k; funded RCF stage managed by RIFM or FRCSM s.r.o.
- Signature: a patient-trader model — no time limit (up to ~999 days/phase) plus a headline “200% Maximum Refund”
- Unusually wide ladder: 1-phase Gold to 4-phase Copper, plus an 8-level Diamond scaling program
- Split not stated on its own pages (third-party ~75–90%); payouts first ~14 days then bi-weekly
- Watch: “funded” marketing vs fictitious-trading Terms; inconsistent refund figure
- Patient-trader model: no time limit on evaluations (up to ~999 days per phase)
- Headline 200 percent maximum refund, higher than the usual 100 percent
- Unusually wide ladder: 1-phase Gold to 4-phase Copper plus an 8-level Diamond program
- Simulated capital to about $320,000; standing 30%-off first-challenge promo
- Broadly positive ~4.3 Trustpilot, with platform lag rather than non-payment the main gripe
- Profit split not stated on the firm own pages; must be verified directly
- Fully simulated with Terms disclaiming any entitlement to payout
- Refund figure quoted inconsistently (100% / 150% / 200%)
- Austria-based prop firm (TradersYard GmbH, Vienna) with simulated forex/CFD challenges on YardPlatform, TradingView and MT5
- Current lineup: preset Instant, 1-Step and 2-Step challenges from $5K to $100K, with Build Your Yard still available for custom setups
- Tiered split: 100% first $300, 90% to $1,000, then 80% (effective 80%)
- Unusual perks: 48-business-hour payout guarantee (or they pay you) and a reward even if you fail
- Watch: “Swiss-backed” but Austrian entity; “up to 100%” and “up to $300k” are best-case framings
- Preset CFD challenges are now clearer, while Build Your Yard still supports custom setups
- Published 8-hour average reward time, with a 48-business-hour guarantee if missed
- Loyalty scheme gives a reward even if you fail a challenge; iOS and Android apps are available
- One-time fee, no monthly or data fees; 14-day money-back if no trades placed
- Static or trailing drawdown, chosen at purchase; strong Trustpilot record
- Tiered split needs context: a $1,000 reward pays $930, while larger payouts move closer to 80% only above $1,000
- Simulated and unregulated structure requires careful terms review before buying
- 48-business-hour payout guarantee can be longer across weekends and public holidays
- UAE-based prop firm (WSF Technology FZCO, Dubai) with simulated forex/indices/crypto challenges on MT4, MT5 and cTrader
- Signature: a permissive funded account — 12% static drawdown, no trailing, no consistency rule
- The catch: funded-stage profits around high-impact news (4 min either side) may be clawed back
- Flat 80% split on the firm’s own pages (third-party “up to 90%” unconfirmed)
- First payout ~15 days then every 10 days, up to 3/month; one-time fee, no monthly
- Permissive funded account: 12% static drawdown, no trailing, no consistency rule
- Fast payouts: first after about 15 days, then every 10 days, up to 3 a month
- Broad platform support (MT4, MT5, cTrader) and multiple evaluation types
- One-time fee, no monthly subscription; 2-step fee refundable on first payout
- Active operation with a roughly 4.4 Trustpilot on the wsfunded.com domain
- Funded-stage profits around high-impact news (4 min either side) may be clawed back
- Headline no-trailing banner does not match instant accounts, which do trail
- Split is a flat 80%; third-party up-to-90% claims are unconfirmed
- One of the very few stock/ETF-focused prop firms — the equities arm of the 5%ers group; simulated US equities
- Signature: a buying-power model for 12,000+ US stocks & ETFs (short-selling, penny stocks), no PDT rule
- A “Pump” scaling engine grows buying power & daily-loss allowance 10% per 10% profit milestone
- Flex (unlimited time) or Max (60-day, cheaper); day buying power $5K–$200K + swing tiers
- 70% profit split; payouts from 14 days ($300 min); US traders welcomed; no futures/crypto
- One of the few genuine stock and ETF prop firms
- Buying power for 12,000-plus US stocks and ETFs, including short-selling, no PDT rule
- Pump scaling grows buying power with performance
- Flex (unlimited time) or cheaper Max (60-day) tracks
- US traders explicitly welcomed
- Simulated, not real share ownership, and unregulated
- Modest 70 percent profit split by current standards
- Up-to-72-hour risk review before payout
Firm comparison
| Firm | Why it belongs here | Main check before buying |
|---|---|---|
| Trade The Pool | market access | Check the live review before buying |
| Rebels Funding | market access | Check the live review before buying |
| Maverick Trading | market access | Check the live review before buying |
| Funder Trading | market access | Check the live review before buying |
| Wall Street Funded | market access | Check the live review before buying |
| Traders Yard | market access | Check the live review before buying |
Separate shares from share-price derivatives
The first selection criterion is the actual equity product. A listed-stock programme needs an identifiable market-access arrangement; a stock CFD programme needs explicit derivative labelling. Establish whether trading is simulated in either case. A paid evaluation is also different from a recruitment or training route with a separate decision about eventual capital allocation.
Next, check the eligible universe rather than accepting a headline instrument count. Exchange coverage, excluded tickers, minimum prices and liquidity restrictions can remove the very stocks a strategy trades. A broad list of US equities is not evidence that low-priced or newly listed shares are eligible.
Short selling changes the comparison
A long-only trader can start with buying power and execution costs. A short seller must establish whether shorting is permitted, which securities are available and whether locates or borrow charges apply. These mechanics vary with the product: a CFD quote is not the same arrangement as borrowing a listed share.
Ask what happens if a short position becomes unavailable to maintain. Also check concentration limits and restrictions on hard-to-borrow names. A strategy that looks profitable before borrow costs can become impractical once those costs and availability constraints are included. The firm needs to support the actual trade, not just display the ticker on a chart.
The opening bell is only part of the session
Confirm access to premarket and after-hours trading, along with the order types available in those sessions. Spreads and liquidity can differ substantially from the main session. A programme may also impose its own closure time or bar holding through earnings announcements.
Read the treatment of trading halts, splits, dividends and overnight gaps. In particular, determine how open equity is marked while a stock is halted and when a daily loss calculation resets. An account can have enough buying power to open a position without enough loss allowance to withstand the strategy’s normal gap exposure.
Data expenses belong in the cost comparison. Basic prices, depth-of-market feeds and specialist tools may have different charges or entitlements. Compare the complete setup you need rather than assuming the advertised platform fee includes every feed.
Traders this category may not serve
A stock prop programme is usually a poor substitute for a personal long-term investment account. It may restrict holding periods, pay contractual rewards and provide no shareholder ownership, depending on its structure.
It also may not suit an options spread trader or someone whose method depends on unrestricted small-cap shorting. Before choosing, test a sample of recent trades against the eligible universe and session rules. If several would have been prohibited or impossible to borrow, the programme’s buying power does not compensate for the missing access.
Stock trading programme questions
Does every stock prop programme let me short any listed share?
No. Where actual share shorting is offered, availability can depend on borrow access and the firm’s permitted stock list. Ask about locate procedures, borrow charges and restrictions on hard-to-borrow names. If the product is a stock CFD or simulated instrument, establish its separate shorting rules instead.
Can I trade earnings releases outside regular stock-market hours?
Check both extended-hours access and the programme’s earnings-event restrictions. Having a chart that displays pre-market prices does not establish that orders are permitted then. Review which order types operate in those sessions and how gaps or reduced liquidity affect the strategy you intend to use.
How are dividends and stock splits handled in a prop account?
The treatment depends on whether the account records shares, CFDs or simulated exposure. Ask how corporate actions adjust positions, prices and account results, and whether any adjustment affects profit targets or loss limits. Do not assume a cash adjustment is a withdrawable dividend or that every platform processes it identically.
What should I check about trading halts in a stock programme?
Ask how the platform handles open positions and pending orders while a stock is halted and when trading resumes. Establish how the firm applies closing deadlines and loss rules in that situation. A protective order should not be treated as a guarantee that you can exit during an interruption.
Can a stock strategy focused on small companies use any stock prop account?
Check the permitted universe, minimum share price and position or volume restrictions. Also review short availability if the strategy trades both directions. Access to familiar large-company stocks does not establish access to smaller names, where the programme may impose different eligibility and execution conditions.